Vishaka Committee

In 2013, the Government of India notified the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act. Consistent with the Vishaka judgment, the Act aspires to ensure women’s right to workplace equality, free from sexual harassment through compliance with the three elements: Prohibition, Prevention, Redress. The Act provides a civil remedy to women and is in addition to other laws that are currently in force. Consequently, any woman who wishes to report instances of sexual harassment at the workplace has the right to take recourse to both civil and criminal proceedings.

The objectives of the Vishaka Committee are as follows:

Members of the Committee

  1. Dr. K. V. Jayashree, Principal &  Chairperson
  2. Mrs. J. S. Divyasree, Assistant Professor of English
  3. Dr. V. Soniya, Assistant Professor of Commerce
  4. Mrs. S. Kumari Sreekala, Office Superintendent